For the past few days the weather in Leksand has been all over the place. We’ve had just about everything… sun, snow, rain…. you name it. So, you can imagine the situation outside. One minute everything is melting, the other it looks like a scene from Frozen. Today I had to leave my house in a hurry to take care of yet another bureaucratic nonsense. Even though I saw that everything was frozen and took my first step extra carefully, I ended up on my ass. I thought to myself,  “this is going to be one hell of a walk”. At this point I had two options…get back inside, or keep on moving and try to make the best of it. I choose the latter of course:)

Somewhere along the way I realised this could very well be one of SWEDISH LIFE LESSONS. Here it is…

I shot the video at the steep part just behind my house. As I was finishing the take, I could hear someone approaching me. I turned around and saw this guy trying to walk down the slope going sideways and moving millimetre by millimetre. I walked up to him and told him that the easiest, quickest and to some extent even safest way down is to get some momentum and slide. You should have seen the look he gave me, as if I just escaped from some sort of an mental institution:) In order to get my point across even better, I decided to demonstrate the proper technique. He just stood there and his eyes were shouting “WTF are you doing, you’re gonna get yourself killed?” After seeing that I I’m still in one piece, he eventually worked up some nerve and tried to take one or two short slides. Much to his amazement….he survived and for a split second I could swear I saw him put on a smile:) Mission accomplished! I just had to conquer few more meters to the save sanctuary of my home and that was enough adrenaline for one day.

