I dont work weekends, so I use this time to visit new places and explore the surroundings. This time I went to Rättvik. The town is believed to be the birth place of tourism in Sweden since the first Sweden’s tourist hotel was inaugurated here in 1894. Otherwise is best known for its wooden pier that just might be the longest one in the world.

I was a beautiful sunny day but it was freezing. Every time I took my gloves off to take a picture my fingers almost froze. But It was worth it. Since my time was limited I didn’t get to experience much more. But I will be back for sure! Maybe next time I will visit the nearby skiing slope…..and I cannot wait for the summer and the opportunity to explore the numerous beaches lake Siljan has to offer.

High of the day: The bus driver let me ride for free (there and back:)

 

Click here for more pictures of Rättvik.

